Curry and Curry

Went to this very complicated hougang town today.. I could have sworn I remember how to go but somehow I forgot..  After trying to trace back how I came the first time, I finally succeeded! 

This eatery is a small n cosy shop.. It’s kinda like a restaurant but there are seats in the open too.. More seats are in the air con area..

We proceed to order their ‘speciality’ Fish head curry.. There are 2 sizes , $22 and $24 . I suppose it’s medium and large.. Haha.. But the waiter told us that only the large one is available due to low demand of the smaller one..  We waited about 10mins and…. Here it is!  

 Fish head curry

The waiter remove the claypot holder n left the sizzling hot pot on the table.. We waited with high anticipation as he served the rice to us! 

First and foremost, before anything, I will sip the curry.. I wanna make sure it’s sour, fragrant and spicy..upon first sip! Yes! It is.. Tasted good! Warm, sour, sweet and fragrant! But it’s not really spicy.. And its slighty thick overall with a powdery feel.. After pouring the gravy on the rice, I proceed to remove the flash of the fish .. The meat is not easy to find, somehow it’s buried in the pot in the thick curry..after tasting the meat, it’s was ok.. Not the best.. But still tasted good.. Quite fresh I would reckoned as there isn’t any fishy smell..  

 Sizzling hot fish head curry

Besides the fish, there is also tao pok.. Which I find it quite unusual but it didn’t affect the taste.. Egg plants and ladyfingers.. 

All in all, the meal was decent but I could have tasted better ones before.. The curry was good.. But maybe too thick and the powdery feeling might not be enjoyable for everyone but I think it was the highlight .. More so than the quality of the meat.. 

As for the fish, although the waiter said it was the large size, it was only half.. One side of the head..so meat wise, not that there’s a lot.. U have to eat with a small eater to really indulge..

 Fu yong egg

The egg was pleasantly tasty.. Fluffy and eggy.. I like the egg.. It can’t match a Thai fried mince pork omelette  but it’s good in its own way..as u can taste the bits of vege n meat inside..

  Kai lan 

The Kai lan was a bit of a let down, as the small shrimps seem to over power the taste.. If u like it, then it’s fine.. But personally I  feel abit ‘chow chor’ 

img_5562Beef rendang 
I remembered I order the beef rendang the previous time and it was pretty good.. Do try to order this too..

Anyway here is my verdct

taste7/10

There’s some hits n missed overall, but you still can drop by here for a Hassel free fish head curry.

Block 203 hougang street 21 #01-45 S(530203)

Leave a Reply

